Online since 2002. Over 3300 puzzles, 2600 worldwide members, and 270,000 messages.

TwistyPuzzles.com Forum

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Hello, Dino Making & Skewbs
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 9:08 pm 

Hello to you all. I have been lurking around a bit, recognized a name or two and thought I'd ask a few questions as well as chat a bit...

I've been playing with cubes and such since 1980 and have done a few 3x3x3 mods, collected a few of the rarer puzzles but now I have finally decided to get into molding some of the items that have eluded me for some time now.

The puzzle market in Athens, GA USA is all but nonexistant. I am currently molding a Domino with a spider mech and thought of how nice it would be to have a Dino. I can't help but see the similarities to the Skewb and wondered if anyone has used a Skewb in the production of a Dino? Care to share any advice?

I recently found a GE Silicone II (tube of silicone) that I am testing to see if it can be an inexpensive alternative for short run production. At $5 US I think about 10 or so molds might be possible.

Would anyone like to share some Dino making tips with me?

Thanks for your time and keep thinking!.....

_pink

Post subject: Re: Hello, Dino Making & Skewbs
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:06 am 

Jin is right, a Dino cube can me made from a Rainbow cube and not from a skweb since this puzzle has only three axles.

But a DINO is no puzzle challenge, it is a true collectible as is a Rainbow cube. Both puzzles are suitable for learning 3D puzzling. you need about 13-20 turns and a beginner can solve a Dino or a Rainbow cube after some hours, it took me 2 minutes to solve after receiving the puzzle (including some study of the puzzle it self).

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 10:31 am